District · Bagmati Province
Rasuwa District
रसुवा जिल्ला
A district of Bagmati Province, made up of 5 local governments.NP0329
Population
46,689
202149,253 projected for 2023
Households
11,140
20214.19 people each
Area
1,501 km²
31 per km²
Literacy
69.6%
202163rd of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
46,689
National Statistics Office
22,654 women, 24,035 men — 48.5% female. 0.8% of Bagmati.
A 2023 projection puts it at 49,253 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 321 | 343 | 664 |
| 75-79 | 326 | 330 | 656 |
| 70-74 | 457 | 494 | 951 |
| 65-69 | 714 | 738 | 1,452 |
| 60-64 | 871 | 907 | 1,778 |
| 55-59 | 981 | 885 | 1,866 |
| 50-54 | 1,187 | 1,007 | 2,194 |
| 45-49 | 1,394 | 1,305 | 2,699 |
| 40-44 | 1,450 | 1,280 | 2,730 |
| 35-39 | 1,462 | 1,878 | 3,340 |
| 30-34 | 1,993 | 2,481 | 4,474 |
| 25-29 | 2,251 | 2,976 | 5,227 |
| 20-24 | 2,148 | 2,836 | 4,984 |
| 15-19 | 2,133 | 2,113 | 4,246 |
| 10-14 | 1,951 | 1,934 | 3,885 |
| 5-9 | 1,948 | 1,940 | 3,888 |
| 0-4 | 2,146 | 2,073 | 4,219 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
69.6%
Population aged 5 and over
6.7 pp below the national figure · 63rd of 77.
76.2% of men, 62.6% of women — a 13.6-point gap.
69.6%
Rasuwa
82.1%
Bagmati
76.2%
Nepal
Rasuwa 69.6%, Bagmati 82.1%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Rasuwa marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write69.6%
- Cannot read or write30.1%
- Can read only0.3%
- Not stated0.0%
42,719 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 29,732 | 12,953 | 16,779 |
| Cannot read or write | 12,857 | 7,682 | 5,175 |
| Can read only | 125 | 60 | 65 |
| Not stated | 5 | 1 | 4 |
Local governments
5 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Literacy rate
60.1%–74.6%
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 5 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Naukunda | rural municipality | 12,344 | 2,794 | 61.5% |
| Kalika | rural municipality | 10,115 | 2,447 | 71.9% |
| Uttargaya | rural municipality | 8,555 | 2,188 | 71.8% |
| Gosaikunda | rural municipality | 7,788 | 2,038 | 68.9% |
| Aamachhodingmo | rural municipality | 6,673 | 1,664 | 73.2% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →