District · Gandaki Province
Mustang District
मुस्ताङ जिल्ला
A district of Gandaki Province, made up of 5 local governments.NP0445
Population
14,452
202115,235 projected for 2023
Households
3,674
20213.93 people each
Area
3,564 km²
4 per km²
Literacy
75.1%
202148th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
14,452
National Statistics Office
6,518 women, 7,934 men — 45.1% female. 0.6% of Gandaki.
A 2023 projection puts it at 15,235 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 104 | 80 | 184 |
| 75-79 | 116 | 113 | 229 |
| 70-74 | 147 | 144 | 291 |
| 65-69 | 208 | 224 | 432 |
| 60-64 | 293 | 266 | 559 |
| 55-59 | 336 | 321 | 657 |
| 50-54 | 371 | 390 | 761 |
| 45-49 | 500 | 443 | 943 |
| 40-44 | 468 | 477 | 945 |
| 35-39 | 490 | 724 | 1,214 |
| 30-34 | 580 | 1,042 | 1,622 |
| 25-29 | 688 | 1,071 | 1,759 |
| 20-24 | 517 | 831 | 1,348 |
| 15-19 | 497 | 698 | 1,195 |
| 10-14 | 560 | 681 | 1,241 |
| 5-9 | 520 | 529 | 1,049 |
| 0-4 | 411 | 395 | 806 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
75.1%
Population aged 5 and over
1.2 pp below the national figure · 48th of 77.
83.5% of men, 64.7% of women — a 18.8-point gap.
75.1%
Mustang
81.7%
Gandaki
76.2%
Nepal
Mustang 75.1%, Gandaki 81.7%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Mustang marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write75.1%
- Cannot read or write22.9%
- Can read only1.8%
- Not stated0.3%
13,689 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 10,274 | 3,971 | 6,303 |
| Cannot read or write | 3,137 | 2,008 | 1,129 |
| Can read only | 241 | 146 | 95 |
| Not stated | 37 | 16 | 21 |
Local governments
5 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Literacy rate
41.3%–85.8%
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 5 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gharpajhong | rural municipality | 3,712 | 1,127 | 81.5% |
| Thasang | rural municipality | 2,856 | 832 | 77.7% |
| Varagung Muktichhetra | rural municipality | 2,036 | 723 | 60.2% |
| Lomanthang | rural municipality | 1,430 | 488 | 47.1% |
| Lo Ghekar Damodarkunda | rural municipality | 1,292 | 436 | 45.6% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →