District · Karnali Province
Dolpa District
डोल्पा जिल्ला
A district of Karnali Province, made up of 8 local governments.NP0662
Population
42,774
202145,675 projected for 2023
Households
9,398
20214.55 people each
Area
7,945 km²
5 per km²
Literacy
67.0%
202170th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
42,774
National Statistics Office
21,403 women, 21,371 men — 50.0% female. 2.5% of Karnali.
A 2023 projection puts it at 45,675 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 37 | 42 | 79 |
| 75-79 | 117 | 84 | 201 |
| 70-74 | 234 | 208 | 442 |
| 65-69 | 361 | 355 | 716 |
| 60-64 | 638 | 515 | 1,153 |
| 55-59 | 841 | 683 | 1,524 |
| 50-54 | 792 | 789 | 1,581 |
| 45-49 | 1,166 | 1,130 | 2,296 |
| 40-44 | 1,264 | 1,057 | 2,321 |
| 35-39 | 1,471 | 1,564 | 3,035 |
| 30-34 | 1,859 | 2,209 | 4,068 |
| 25-29 | 2,305 | 2,801 | 5,106 |
| 20-24 | 2,280 | 2,539 | 4,819 |
| 15-19 | 2,398 | 2,358 | 4,756 |
| 10-14 | 2,545 | 2,442 | 4,987 |
| 5-9 | 2,345 | 2,332 | 4,677 |
| 0-4 | 2,017 | 1,897 | 3,914 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
67.0%
Population aged 5 and over
9.2 pp below the national figure · 70th of 77.
75.4% of men, 58.7% of women — a 16.7-point gap.
67.0%
Dolpa
76.1%
Karnali
76.2%
Nepal
Dolpa 67.0%, Karnali 76.1%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Dolpa marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write67.0%
- Cannot read or write31.6%
- Can read only1.2%
- Not stated0.1%
39,136 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 26,229 | 11,495 | 14,734 |
| Cannot read or write | 12,379 | 7,766 | 4,613 |
| Can read only | 486 | 300 | 186 |
| Not stated | 42 | 23 | 19 |
Local governments
8 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 8 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tripurasundari | municipality | 12,233 | 2,622 | 70.9% |
| Thulibheri | municipality | 9,861 | 2,327 | 73.7% |
| Mudkechula | rural municipality | 5,803 | 1,190 | 77.0% |
| Kaike | rural municipality | 3,965 | 916 | 58.8% |
| Shey Phoksundo | rural municipality | 3,635 | 861 | 45.0% |
| Jagadulla | rural municipality | 2,575 | 601 | 73.0% |
| Dolpo Buddha | rural municipality | 2,420 | 543 | 45.3% |
| Chharka Tangsong | rural municipality | 1,672 | 320 | 45.9% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →