District · Koshi Province
Okhaldhunga District
ओखलढुङ्गा जिल्ला
A district of Koshi Province, made up of 8 local governments.NP0113
Population
139,552
2021144,138 projected for 2023
Households
34,294
20214.07 people each
Area
1,076 km²
130 per km²
Literacy
73.9%
202149th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
139,552
National Statistics Office
71,472 women, 68,080 men — 51.2% female. 2.8% of Koshi.
A 2023 projection puts it at 144,138 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 1,150 | 1,092 | 2,242 |
| 75-79 | 1,258 | 1,152 | 2,410 |
| 70-74 | 1,730 | 1,625 | 3,355 |
| 65-69 | 2,440 | 2,145 | 4,585 |
| 60-64 | 3,233 | 2,815 | 6,048 |
| 55-59 | 3,834 | 3,071 | 6,905 |
| 50-54 | 4,384 | 3,651 | 8,035 |
| 45-49 | 4,210 | 3,455 | 7,665 |
| 40-44 | 4,276 | 3,189 | 7,465 |
| 35-39 | 4,457 | 3,856 | 8,313 |
| 30-34 | 5,370 | 5,597 | 10,967 |
| 25-29 | 6,449 | 7,322 | 13,771 |
| 20-24 | 6,663 | 7,257 | 13,920 |
| 15-19 | 7,091 | 7,224 | 14,315 |
| 10-14 | 6,254 | 6,498 | 12,752 |
| 5-9 | 5,601 | 5,338 | 10,939 |
| 0-4 | 5,233 | 5,218 | 10,451 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
73.9%
Population aged 5 and over
2.4 pp below the national figure · 49th of 77.
81.6% of men, 66.6% of women — a 15.0-point gap.
73.9%
Okhaldhunga
79.7%
Koshi
76.2%
Nepal
Okhaldhunga 73.9%, Koshi 79.7%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Okhaldhunga marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write73.9%
- Cannot read or write25.8%
- Can read only0.3%
- Not stated0.0%
129,593 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 95,752 | 44,379 | 51,373 |
| Cannot read or write | 33,498 | 22,048 | 11,450 |
| Can read only | 339 | 210 | 129 |
| Not stated | 4 | 2 | 2 |
Local governments
8 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 8 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Siddhicharan | municipality | 27,351 | 7,126 | 76.2% |
| Manebhanjyang | rural municipality | 19,597 | 4,785 | 77.6% |
| Sunkoshi | rural municipality | 17,783 | 4,368 | 71.4% |
| Molung | rural municipality | 16,440 | 4,069 | 73.8% |
| Champadevi | rural municipality | 16,311 | 4,034 | 68.3% |
| Khiji Demba | rural municipality | 15,559 | 3,438 | 74.8% |
| Chishankhu Gadhi | rural municipality | 13,844 | 3,305 | 74.8% |
| Likhu | rural municipality | 12,104 | 3,161 | 70.7% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →