District · Koshi Province
Bhojpur District
भोजपुर जिल्ला
A district of Koshi Province, made up of 9 local governments.NP0110
Population
157,923
2021160,924 projected for 2023
Households
38,631
20214.09 people each
Area
1,524 km²
104 per km²
Literacy
78.9%
202127th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
157,923
National Statistics Office
79,712 women, 78,211 men — 50.5% female. 3.2% of Koshi.
A 2023 projection puts it at 160,924 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 1,091 | 1,088 | 2,179 |
| 75-79 | 1,150 | 1,247 | 2,397 |
| 70-74 | 1,737 | 1,651 | 3,388 |
| 65-69 | 2,487 | 2,293 | 4,780 |
| 60-64 | 3,527 | 3,205 | 6,732 |
| 55-59 | 4,412 | 3,522 | 7,934 |
| 50-54 | 4,657 | 3,768 | 8,425 |
| 45-49 | 4,616 | 4,035 | 8,651 |
| 40-44 | 4,680 | 3,608 | 8,288 |
| 35-39 | 4,927 | 4,545 | 9,472 |
| 30-34 | 5,975 | 6,577 | 12,552 |
| 25-29 | 6,866 | 8,429 | 15,295 |
| 20-24 | 6,987 | 7,629 | 14,616 |
| 15-19 | 7,434 | 7,955 | 15,389 |
| 10-14 | 7,245 | 7,349 | 14,594 |
| 5-9 | 6,917 | 6,669 | 13,586 |
| 0-4 | 6,324 | 6,322 | 12,646 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
78.9%
Population aged 5 and over
2.6 pp above the national figure · 27th of 77.
86.1% of men, 71.8% of women — a 14.2-point gap.
78.9%
Bhojpur
79.7%
Koshi
76.2%
Nepal
Bhojpur 78.9%, Koshi 79.7%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Bhojpur marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write78.9%
- Cannot read or write20.5%
- Can read only0.6%
- Not stated0.0%
145,695 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 114,914 | 53,009 | 61,905 |
| Cannot read or write | 29,890 | 20,242 | 9,648 |
| Can read only | 886 | 532 | 354 |
| Not stated | 5 | 3 | 2 |
Local governments
9 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing. 1 more in the table below.
View all 9 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shadananda | municipality | 29,342 | 7,311 | 78.8% |
| Bhojpur | municipality | 26,007 | 6,744 | 82.8% |
| Hatuwagadhi | rural municipality | 16,175 | 4,034 | 76.4% |
| Ramprasad Rai | rural municipality | 15,673 | 3,709 | 78.4% |
| Temkemaiyum | rural municipality | 15,464 | 3,854 | 79.1% |
| Aamchowk | rural municipality | 14,968 | 3,479 | 76.1% |
| Arun | rural municipality | 14,591 | 3,538 | 76.5% |
| Salpa Silichho | rural municipality | 12,284 | 2,998 | 79.3% |
| Pauwa Dunma | rural municipality | 12,107 | 2,913 | 77.8% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →