District · Koshi Province
Udayapur District
उदयपुर जिल्ला
A district of Koshi Province, made up of 9 local governments.NP0114
Population
340,721
2021359,146 projected for 2023
Households
81,089
20214.20 people each
Area
2,297 km²
148 per km²
Literacy
77.2%
202138th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
340,721
National Statistics Office
176,983 women, 163,738 men — 51.9% female. 6.9% of Koshi.
A 2023 projection puts it at 359,146 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 1,645 | 1,666 | 3,311 |
| 75-79 | 2,138 | 2,062 | 4,200 |
| 70-74 | 3,272 | 3,043 | 6,315 |
| 65-69 | 4,696 | 4,353 | 9,049 |
| 60-64 | 6,249 | 5,377 | 11,626 |
| 55-59 | 7,674 | 6,337 | 14,011 |
| 50-54 | 9,519 | 7,918 | 17,437 |
| 45-49 | 10,255 | 8,751 | 19,006 |
| 40-44 | 11,330 | 8,169 | 19,499 |
| 35-39 | 13,139 | 10,633 | 23,772 |
| 30-34 | 16,346 | 14,213 | 30,559 |
| 25-29 | 18,037 | 16,822 | 34,859 |
| 20-24 | 17,547 | 17,149 | 34,696 |
| 15-19 | 17,470 | 18,056 | 35,526 |
| 10-14 | 16,809 | 16,955 | 33,764 |
| 5-9 | 15,670 | 16,222 | 31,892 |
| 0-4 | 14,715 | 14,909 | 29,624 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
77.2%
Population aged 5 and over
0.9 pp above the national figure · 38th of 77.
84.1% of men, 70.9% of women — a 13.2-point gap.
77.2%
Udayapur
79.7%
Koshi
76.2%
Nepal
Udayapur 77.2%, Koshi 79.7%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Udayapur marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write77.2%
- Cannot read or write22.6%
- Can read only0.2%
- Not stated0.0%
312,990 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 241,542 | 115,977 | 125,565 |
| Cannot read or write | 70,672 | 47,184 | 23,488 |
| Can read only | 769 | 471 | 298 |
| Not stated | 7 | 4 | 3 |
Local governments
9 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing. 1 more in the table below.
View all 9 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Triyuga | municipality | 102,725 | 25,623 | 80.0% |
| Katari | municipality | 59,507 | 14,106 | 74.6% |
| Chaudandigadhi | municipality | 53,631 | 12,703 | 77.7% |
| Belaka | municipality | 51,043 | 12,158 | 77.5% |
| Udayapurgadhi | rural municipality | 28,926 | 6,800 | 74.0% |
| Rautamai | rural municipality | 20,324 | 4,572 | 74.6% |
| Tapli | rural municipality | 13,344 | 2,862 | 74.7% |
| Limchunbung | rural municipality | 9,689 | 2,227 | 73.0% |
| Koshi Tappu | protected_area | — | — | — |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →