District · Lumbini Province
Banke District
बाँके जिल्ला
A district of Lumbini Province, made up of 8 local governments.NP0557
Population
603,194
2021649,419 projected for 2023
Households
129,307
20214.66 people each
Area
1,881 km²
321 per km²
Literacy
73.4%
202150th of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
603,194
National Statistics Office
306,449 women, 296,745 men — 50.8% female. 11.8% of Lumbini.
A 2023 projection puts it at 649,419 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 1,695 | 1,620 | 3,315 |
| 75-79 | 2,504 | 2,727 | 5,231 |
| 70-74 | 4,901 | 4,883 | 9,784 |
| 65-69 | 6,372 | 6,047 | 12,419 |
| 60-64 | 7,893 | 7,302 | 15,195 |
| 55-59 | 10,669 | 9,345 | 20,014 |
| 50-54 | 13,227 | 11,535 | 24,762 |
| 45-49 | 16,303 | 14,946 | 31,249 |
| 40-44 | 19,756 | 16,632 | 36,388 |
| 35-39 | 24,646 | 21,277 | 45,923 |
| 30-34 | 30,900 | 27,781 | 58,681 |
| 25-29 | 35,357 | 34,149 | 69,506 |
| 20-24 | 34,554 | 33,905 | 68,459 |
| 15-19 | 31,515 | 33,101 | 64,616 |
| 10-14 | 30,015 | 32,219 | 62,234 |
| 5-9 | 30,166 | 32,424 | 62,590 |
| 0-4 | 28,687 | 30,366 | 59,053 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
73.4%
Population aged 5 and over
2.9 pp below the national figure · 50th of 77.
79.6% of men, 67.5% of women — a 12.1-point gap.
73.4%
Banke
78.1%
Lumbini
76.2%
Nepal
Banke 73.4%, Lumbini 78.1%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Banke marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write73.4%
- Cannot read or write26.0%
- Can read only0.5%
- Not stated0.1%
548,821 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 402,832 | 189,524 | 213,308 |
| Cannot read or write | 142,819 | 89,533 | 53,286 |
| Can read only | 2,874 | 1,657 | 1,217 |
| Not stated | 296 | 160 | 136 |
Local governments
8 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 8 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nepalganj | sub-metropolitan city | 164,444 | 34,565 | 76.2% |
| Kohalpur | municipality | 101,667 | 24,183 | 82.6% |
| Baijanath | rural municipality | 69,472 | 16,469 | 77.9% |
| Rapti Sonari | rural municipality | 66,445 | 14,946 | 75.0% |
| Khajura | rural municipality | 62,789 | 13,706 | 75.3% |
| Janaki | rural municipality | 46,141 | 8,826 | 67.1% |
| Narainapur | rural municipality | 43,206 | 8,488 | 47.9% |
| Duduwa | rural municipality | 43,135 | 8,051 | 55.4% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →