District · Karnali Province
Jumla District
जुम्ला जिल्ला
A district of Karnali Province, made up of 8 local governments.NP0663
Population
118,349
2021124,995 projected for 2023
Households
24,438
20214.84 people each
Area
2,554 km²
46 per km²
Literacy
70.2%
202162nd of 77
Population & Demographics
Population, 2021 census
118,349
National Statistics Office
59,121 women, 59,228 men — 50.0% female. 7.0% of Karnali.
A 2023 projection puts it at 124,995 — modelled, not counted.
Age and sex structure
Five-year bands, 2023 projection — a different reference period from the count beside it.
View all 17 age bands
| Age | Female | Male | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 80+ | 160 | 174 | 334 |
| 75-79 | 289 | 312 | 601 |
| 70-74 | 841 | 842 | 1,683 |
| 65-69 | 977 | 959 | 1,936 |
| 60-64 | 1,688 | 1,590 | 3,278 |
| 55-59 | 2,168 | 1,992 | 4,160 |
| 50-54 | 2,426 | 2,150 | 4,576 |
| 45-49 | 3,068 | 3,195 | 6,263 |
| 40-44 | 3,533 | 2,668 | 6,201 |
| 35-39 | 3,718 | 3,763 | 7,481 |
| 30-34 | 4,926 | 5,313 | 10,239 |
| 25-29 | 5,765 | 6,871 | 12,636 |
| 20-24 | 6,906 | 7,131 | 14,037 |
| 15-19 | 6,964 | 6,843 | 13,807 |
| 10-14 | 7,086 | 7,051 | 14,137 |
| 5-9 | 6,015 | 6,197 | 12,212 |
| 0-4 | 5,505 | 5,909 | 11,414 |
Education
Literacy rate, 2021 census
70.2%
Population aged 5 and over
6.1 pp below the national figure · 62nd of 77.
78.9% of men, 61.6% of women — a 17.4-point gap.
70.2%
Jumla
76.1%
Karnali
76.2%
Nepal
Jumla 70.2%, Karnali 76.1%, Nepal 76.2%.
Literacy rate, 2021 census. Jumla marked in black.
Population aged 5 and over, by literacy status
The census partition behind the rate.
- Can read and write70.2%
- Cannot read or write28.7%
- Can read only0.7%
- Not stated0.4%
107,647 people aged 5 and over. Counts are in the table.
View all 4 categories
| Literacy status | All | Female | Male |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can read and write | 75,564 | 33,318 | 42,246 |
| Cannot read or write | 30,888 | 20,103 | 10,785 |
| Can read only | 746 | 472 | 274 |
| Not stated | 449 | 231 | 218 |
Local governments
8 local governments. By population, 2021 census.
Population
Households
One order throughout, set by population, so a mark out of step ranks differently on that measure. Counts are bars from zero; rates are dots on a trimmed axis, because a rate is not additive and its spread matters more than its distance from nothing.
View all 8 local governments
| Place | Type | Population | Households | Literacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chandannath | municipality | 21,036 | 5,367 | 77.6% |
| Patarasi | rural municipality | 16,824 | 3,342 | 64.5% |
| Tatopani | rural municipality | 15,575 | 3,318 | 70.3% |
| Tila | rural municipality | 14,539 | 2,667 | 71.7% |
| Kanaka Sundari | rural municipality | 13,625 | 2,754 | 68.3% |
| Sinja | rural municipality | 12,556 | 2,354 | 61.2% |
| Hima | rural municipality | 12,191 | 2,176 | 72.7% |
| Guthichaur | rural municipality | 10,922 | 2,444 | 69.2% |
Sources and coverage
- Nepal — Subnational Population StatisticsUnited Nations Population Fundcc-by-igo-3.0
- Nepal — National Population and Housing Census 2021National Statistics Officenso-official-statistics
Measures such as gdp per capita, life expectancy at birth, and under-5 mortality rate are published for Nepal as a whole and are not broken down to this level by their source, so they have no section here. All indicators and their coverage →